29 Indian-Origin MPs Elected To UK Parliament

Featured & Cover 29 MPs of Indian origin (India Times0

In a significant development for Indian-origin political representation, the UK Parliament is set to host historic 29 MPs of Indian descent after the 2024 general election. Labour has emerged as the predominant party among People of Indian Origin (PIO) MPs, winning 19 seats, marking a substantial rise compared to previous terms, according to a report by The Times of India.

New faces

Labour celebrated a significant win as they welcomed 12 new PIO MPs into their fold. Notable incumbents such as Lisa Nandy, Nadia Whittome, Navendu Mishra, Preet Gill, Valerie Vaz, and Seema Malhotra comfortably secured their seats. Tanmanjeet Singh Dhesi retained Slough with a diminished majority, while Thangam Debbonaire conceded Bristol Central to the Green Party, underscoring intense competition even in traditionally Labour-dominated areas, the report said.

First time Labour MPs of Indian origin

They are Jas Athwal (Ilford South), Baggy Shanker (Derby South), Satvir Kaur (Southampton Test), Harpreet Uppal (Huddersfield), Warinder Juss (Wolverhampton West), Gurinder Josan (Smethwick), Kanishka Narayan (Vale of Glamorgan), Sonia Kumar (Dudley), Sureena Brackenbridge (Wolverhampton North East), Kirith Entwistle (Bolton North East), Jeevun Sandher (Loughborough) and Sojan Joseph (Ashford).

Indian-origin Labour MPs re-elected

Labour Party’s Seema Malhotra retained her Feltham and Heston seat, while Valerie Vaz won in Walsall and Bloxwich, and Lisa Nandy held on to her constituency of Wigan.

Preet Kaur Gill won from Birmingham Edgbaston and Tanmanjeet Singh was the winner in Slough. Navendu Mishra (Stockport) and Nadia Whittome (Nottingham East) were among the other Labour MPs re-elected.

Liberal Democrats and Independents of Indian-origin

The third-largest party in the UK Parliament too has some Indian-origin representation. Munira Wilson won back her Twickenham constituency for the Liberal Democrats.

Two Independent candidates with ancestral roots in India, Shockat Adam Patel (Leicester South) and Iqbal Mohamed (Dewsbury and Batley) registered decisive wins.

Conservative Party

The Conservative Party celebrated the addition of two new PIO MPs, while notable figures including Priti Patel, Rishi Sunak, Suella Braverman, Claire Coutinho, and Gagan Mohindra successfully defended their seats. Despite these victories, setbacks like Shailesh Vara’s loss in North West Cambridgeshire and Ranil Jayawardena’s defeat in Hampshire North East to the Liberal Democrats highlighted closely contested races within Conservative-held constituencies.

Alok Sharma and Virendra Sharma chose not to run for re-election, affecting the constituencies of Reading West and Ealing Southall, respectively. Deirdre Costigan won Ealing Southall decisively for the Labour Party.

Despite fielding 13 candidates from minor parties like the Green Party and Reform UK, none were successful in securing seats. Independent candidates such as Iqbal Mohamed and Shockat Adam saw notable success, highlighting the varied political aspirations within the PIO community.

The 2024 elections have established a new benchmark for PIO representation in British politics. Labour’s strong performance underscores evolving political dynamics and increasing community influence. The diverse group of PIO MPs now serving in the UK Parliament represents a significant stride towards greater diversity and inclusivity in parliamentary positions, the report stated.

In 2024, the UK has elected what is being described as the country’s most diverse Parliament with at least 87 ethnic minority candidates set to take their seats in the Commons

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More Related Stories