India’s T20 World Cup Squad Unveiled

Featured & Cover India's T20 World Cup Squad Unveiled

India’s squad for the forthcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 has been unveiled by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), with Yuzvendra Chahal and Shivam Dube securing spots among the 15-member team. Rohit Sharma will lead the team, with Hardik Pandya serving as vice-captain.

Chahal, the leg-spinner, who was left out of India’s recent T20 fixtures, earned his place on the back of impressive performances for Rajasthan Royals in the ongoing IPL season. Notably, he stands as the solitary right-arm spinner in the squad, complemented by left-arm spinners Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, and Kuldeep Yadav.

The pace battery comprises Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, and Mohammed Siraj, while K.L. Rahul of Lucknow Super Giants and Dinesh Karthik of Royal Challengers Bengaluru find themselves among the notable exclusions. Karthik, who exhibited promising form as a finisher for RCB, had hoped for a spot on the roster.

In a shuffle for the opener slot, Shubman Gill conceded ground to Yashasvi Jaiswal, with Gill and lower-order batsman Rinku Singh securing spots in the reserves. Dube, known for his ability to deliver big hits, replaced Singh in the final squad.

The T20 World Cup marks the return of wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant to the international arena after a hiatus since December 2022 due to a car accident. Pant, who has showcased his prowess with the bat for Delhi Capitals (DC) in IPL 2024, brings his dynamic batting and adept wicketkeeping skills to the fold.

Sanju Samson, the skipper of Rajasthan Royals, earns his place as the second wicketkeeper. Samson has dazzled with the bat, boasting a strike-rate of 161.08 and an impressive average of 77 for RR.

Despite recent criticisms regarding his strike-rate, Virat Kohli retains his place in the squad, with selectors expressing confidence in his abilities. Kohli addressed concerns about his performance by emphasizing the importance of contributing to the team’s victory, following his stellar 44-ball 70 for Royal Challengers Bangalore against Gujarat Titans.

Similarly, trust remains vested in Hardik Pandya, despite his struggles in his inaugural season as captain of Mumbai Indians. Hardik has faced criticism from MI supporters for his lackluster performances with both bat and ball, compounded by the team’s disappointing run under his leadership.

India will kick off their World Cup campaign against Ireland on June 5 at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium (New York), followed by a highly-anticipated showdown against Pakistan on June 9 at the same venue. Subsequent matches will see India facing off against USA and Canada on June 12 and 15, respectively.

The full squad includes: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Hardik Pandya (Vice Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohammed Siraj.

Reserves comprise: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, and Avesh Khan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More Related Stories