Babar Azam Surpasses MS Dhoni to Become Leading T20 World Cup Captain in Runs

Featured & Cover Babar Azam Surpasses MS Dhoni to Become Leading T20 World Cup Captain in Runs

Under-fire Pakistan skipper Babar Azam on Sunday achieved a remarkable milestone by surpassing legendary MS Dhoni in the list of most run-getters as a captain in T20 World Cup history. This achievement came during their match against Ireland in Lauderhill, United States.

Despite facing criticism, Babar’s fighting unbeaten knock helped Pakistan secure a narrow three-wicket win in a low-scoring thriller. Chasing a modest target of 107, Pakistan found themselves in trouble at 62 for six in 11 overs. However, skipper Babar (32 not out) and Abbas Afridi (17) managed to share a crucial 33-run partnership, steering their team to victory at 111 for seven in 18.5 overs.

Pakistan, already out of the Super 8 contention, concluded their T20 World Cup campaign with a third-place finish in Group A. Arch-rivals India and co-hosts USA advanced to the next round, securing the first and second positions respectively.

Captains like Babar Azam have shown exceptional skill and composure under pressure, leaving their mark on the tournament with significant run tallies.

Babar leads this esteemed list with 549 runs in just 17 innings. Known for his elegant stroke play and impeccable timing, Babar has consistently anchored his team’s innings, providing both stability and a reliable scoring option. His calm demeanor in high-pressure situations has been instrumental in his success, making him a standout performer in T20 World Cups.

Dhoni, with 529 runs in 29 innings, is second on the list. Renowned for his finishing prowess and strategic acumen, Dhoni’s contributions with the bat were crucial in many tight contests. His calm and calculated approach in the death overs made him one of the most feared finishers in the game, ensuring India’s competitive edge in numerous tournaments.

Most runs as captain in T20 World Cups:

– 549 – Babar Azam (17 inns)*

– 529 – MS Dhoni (29 inns)

– 527 – Kane Williamson (19 inns)

– 360 – M Jayawardene (11 inns)

– 352 – Graeme Smith (16 inns)

New Zealand’s Kane Williamson, with 527 runs in 19 innings, holds the third spot and exemplifies consistency and grace under pressure. His tactical brilliance and ability to adapt to different match situations have been key to New Zealand’s success. Williamson’s composed and technically sound batting style has made him a reliable leader and a vital run-scorer for his team.

Sri Lanka’s Mahela Jayawardene, accumulating 360 runs in just 11 innings, showcased his class and elegance, earning the fourth spot. Despite playing fewer matches, his impact was profound, often leading from the front and guiding his team through challenging phases with his experience and skill.

South Africa’s Graeme Smith, with 352 runs in 16 innings, rounds off this elite group. Smith’s aggressive and fearless approach set the tone for his team, providing quick starts and building solid foundations for South Africa’s innings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More Related Stories