Tamil Film Soorarai Pottru Wins Big At 68th National Film Awards Bollywood

The winners of the 68th National Film Awards 2020 were announced last week by a jury of eminent film makers and film personalities from across the Indian cinema industry. Tamil Film Soorarai Pottru starring Suriya and Aparrna Balamurali in lead roles bagged the most awards including ones for Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Feature Film, Best Screenplay and Best Music Direction. The film was based on a true story of a young man from a remote village who dreams of launching his own airline service.

The year 2020 changed the course of cinema owing to the Covid-19 pandemic. With theatres under lockdown, several filmmakers shifted gears and released their original theatrical releases on OTT. Despite the change in medium, there were some critically acclaimed releases that year. The year also put regional content in the spotlight, with Suriya’s Soorai Pottru and P Virumaandi’s directorial debut Ka Pae Ranasingham winning hearts across the country.

Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior

Best Actor: Suriya for Soorarai Pottru and Ajay Devgn for Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior

Best Actress: Aparrna Balamurali for Soorarai Pottru (Tamil)

Best Child Artist: Anish Mangesh Gosavi for Tak-Tak (Marathi) and Akanksha Pingle and Divyesh Indulkar for Sumi


Best Direction: Sachidanandan KR for AK Ayyappanum Koshiyum (Malayalam)

Best Original Screenplay: Soorarai Pottru (Tamil)

Best Dialogue Writing: Mandela (Tamil)

Best Cinematography: Avijatrik

Best Supporting Actress: Lakshmi Priya Chandramouli for Sivaranjaniyum Innum Sila Pengallum (Tamil)

Best Supporting Actor: Biju Menon for AK Ayyappanum Koshiyum (Malayalam)

Best Film on Social Issues: Funeral (Marathi)

Best Female Playback Singer: Nanchamma for AK Ayyappanum Koshiyum (Malayalam)

Best Male Playback Singer: Rahul Deshpande for Mi Vasantrao (Marathi)

Special Mention in Feature Film category:

Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director: Madonne Ashwin for Mandela (Tamil)

Best Children’s Film: Sumi (Marathi)

Best Film on Environment Conservation/Preservation: Taledanda (Kannada)

Best Hindi Film: Toolsidas Junior

Best Bengali Film: Avijatrik

Best Telugu Film: Colour Photo

Best Tamil Film: Sivaranjaniyum Innum Sila Pengallum

Best Assamese Film: Bridge

Best Malayalam Film: Thinkalazcha Nishchayam

Best Haryanvi Film: Dada Lakhmi

Best Dimasa Film: Semkhor

Best Tulu Film: Jeetige

Best Marathi Film: Goshta Eka Paithanichi

Best Kannada Film: Dollu

Best Action Direction Award: AK Ayyappanum Koshiyum

Best Choreography: Sandhya Raju for Natyam (Telugu)

Best Lyrics: Manoj Muntashir for Saina

Best Music Direction: Thamam S for Ala Vaikunthapurramuloo (Telugu)

Best Background Music: GV Prakash for Soorarai Pottru

Best Costume Designer: Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior

Best Makeup Artist: TV Rambabu for Natyam

Best Production Design: Kappela (Malayalam)

Best Editing: Sivaranjaniyum Innum Sila Pengallum


Best Audiography: Dollu (Kannada)

Best Sound Designer: Mi Vasantrao (Marathi)

Best Re-recordist and Final Track: Malik (Malayalam)

Feature Films Special Mentions: Aimee Baruah for Semkhor (Dimasa), director Kavya Prakash for Vaanku (Malayalam), actor Siddharth Menon for June (Marathi), Kishore Kadam for Avwanchhit and Godakaath (Marathi), child artist Varun Buddhadev for Toolsidas Junior.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More Related Stories

TheUNN WhatsApp Group

Join and follow our WhatsApp group for daily news and updates. It's completely free!