Several Indo-Canadians Elected To Parliament, As Trudeau Returns To Power

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau’s gamble to seek a majority by calling a snap election did not pay off as he had expected, although he is returning to power in Canada as its Prime Minister after the elections were announced on Tuesday, September 21, 2021.  That is Trudeau’s third federal election win, however his critics say the ballot was a waste of time. The Liberals led by Trudeau received essentially the most seats of any get together. Trudeau’s Liberals had been elected in 156 seats one less than they received in 2019, and 14 short of the 170 needed for a majority within the Home of Commons, based on Canadian media stories.

The main opposition Conservative Party ended up with a tally of 122 seats one up from the dissolved House. This is Trudeau’s third federal election win, but his critics say the poll was a waste of time. As many as 17 Indo-Canadians were elected to the Canadian Parliament during the elections held on Monday, September 20th.  The Jagmeet Singh-led New Democratic Party (NDP) will again hold the balance of power as it increased its tally from 24 to 27. NDP leader Jagmeet Singh also retained his Burnaby South seat in British Columbia. Among the 17 Indo-Canadian winners are Jagmeet Singh, former Minister Tim Uppal and three current Cabinet Ministers Harjit Singh Sajjan, Bardish Chagger and Anita Anand. Defense Minister Harjit Singh Sajjan again won from Vancouver South by beating Sukhbir Gill of the Conservative Party.

The Liberals’ Anand was declared the winner in Oakville with an almost 46 per cent vote share; a big improvement for Canada’s vaccine minister. Anand was a rookie MP after profitable in 2019 when she was appointed, Metropolis Information Toronto reported. She rapidly grew to become in control of the nation’s efforts to safe COVID-19 vaccines and was usually on the marketing campaign path with Trudeau, it stated. “I am simply ecstatic, she stated, thanking the volunteers who had labored extraordinarily laborious as a crew for 5 weeks straight,” she was quoted as saying by the Oakville Information. Chagger, Minister of Diversity, too retained her Waterloo seat as did Public Service Minister Anand her Oakville seat.

In British Columbia, three-time Liberal Party MP Sukh Dhaliwal retained his Surrey-Newton seat by beating fellow Punjabi Avneet Johal of the NDP. Two-time Liberal Party MP Randeep Singh Sarai also won the Surrey Centre seat by beating Sonia Andhi of the NDP. In Quebec, the sitting Indo-Canadian Anju Dhillon retained her Dorval Lachine LaSalle seat. In Alberta, Jasraj Singh Hallan retained the Calgary Forest Lawn seat, but his fellow Conservative MP Jag Sahota lost to fellow Sikh George Chahal of the Liberal Party. Uppal is back once again after retaining the Edmonton Mill Woods seat for the Conservative party. He is the brother-in-law of Congress MLA from Jalandhar Cantt, Pargat Singh.

In Ontario, the Punjabi-dominated city of Brampton again re-elected all the four sitting Indo-Canadian MPs, Maninder Sidhu, Ruby Sahota, Sonia Sidhu and Kamal Khera, against fellow Indo-Canadians Naval Bajaj, Medha Joshi, Ramandeep Brar and Gurprit Gill, respectively. The winners belong to Trudeau’s Liberal Party. Chandra Arya too retained the Napean seat in Ontario. Lawyer Iqwinder Gaheer, who won the Mississauga-Malton seat for the Liberal Party, will be one of the youngest MPs to go the House of Commons in Ottawa. Sitting Conservative Party MP Bob Saroya was another known Indo-Canadian face to lose on Monday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More Related Stories

TheUNN WhatsApp Group

Join and follow our WhatsApp group for daily news and updates. It's completely free!