RCHS installs Aleya Jung as President at the 15th Gala

Featured & Cover RCHS installs Aleya Jung as President at the 15th Gala

The Rotary Club of Hicksville South (RCHS) held its 15th Anniversary Appreciation Gala and Installation Ceremony on June 21, 2024 at The Metropolitan.

Rotary club 1Aleya Jung, a healthcare executive, took over as President after being passed the Club Gavel and Bell by the Outgoing President, Mizanur Rahman. Rotary District 7255 Governor-Elect Beverly James administered the oath of office to Jung.  In turn, Jung administered the oath of office to his team including Tahira Sharif as President-Elect. Anu Gulati, Kalpana Patel and Neeru Bhambri are Vice Presidents, Dr Roger Singh is Secretary and Arjen Bathija is Treasurer for 2024-25.

At the Gala, RCHS presented Ravi Bhooplapur, the Past District Governor, with a $20,000 check for Rotary International, Pakistan (Karachi). This was in continuation of the contribution of over $28,000 for shelters for victims of the 2022 floods in Pakistan initiated by RCHS under the presidency of Rizwan Qureshi with the help of the Pakistani Community on Long Island.

In his speech, Mizanur Rahman highlighted the RCHS projects under his leadership in 2023-24. President 2024-25Rotary club 2 Aleya Jung pledged to continue the 15-year-old Rotary Club’s ongoing projects.

In her keynote speech, Kalpana Patel, President and CEO of Unique Computers Inc., emphasized women’s empowerment while relating her own success journey, which started when she won a Rotary scholarship to study for an MBA in America. She was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award for her leadership role and philanthropic efforts. She was introduced by RCHS Charter President and Past District Governor Kamlesh Mehta.

RCHS recognized two other women for their selfless service to the club and the community. Past Presidents Roopam Maini and Nilima Madan were presented with Hall of Fame Awards.

Past President Rizwan Qureshi received the Lifetime Achievement Award, Mizanur Rahman was recognized with the Presidential Award for his leadership, and Aleya Jung was presented with Paul Harris Recognition from the Rotary Foundation.

Rizwan Qureshi Lifetime AchievementRCHS’s Bansi Shah Memorial Award (for highest donor for the year) was awarded to Syed Zaki Hossain and his wife, Rahat Hossain. The Vyas Dev Sharma Memorial Award for outstanding service went to Ms. Anu Gulati. Service awards for the past year were presented to Dr. Neeru Bhambri, Tahira Sharif and Roger Singh by Mizanur Rahman.

Representatives from Nassau County, the Towns of North Hempstead and Oyster Bay presented the honorees and RCHS officials with citations.  

Dignitaries and public officials gracing the ceremony included Town of North Hempstead Supervisor Jennifer DeSena, Deputy Nassau County Executive Anissa D. Moore, County Legislator Rose Marie Walker, County Minority Affairs Executive Director Lionel Chitty, and Town of Oyster Bay Director South Asian Business & Development, Harry Malhotra.

A new poetry book, ‘The Collected Works of Quddus Mohammed,’ was released at the gala event. Past President andRCHS installs Aleya Jung as President at the 15th Gala 2 Deputy PDG Quddus Mohammed has committed to using the proceeds to support the club’s community service projects. Kamlesh Mehta gifted copies of the book to attendees.

Jay Joshi regaled the audience with her standup comedy. Isha Mishra gave a Kathak performance.

Dr. Roger Singh served as the program emcee. Tahira Sharif read out the Pledge of Allegiance, and Dr. Neeru Bhambri gave a vote of thanks.  

A journal marking the occasion was distributed among the attendees. Delicious appetizers and a sumptuous dinner was followed by music and dance to conclude the event. 

Parveen Chopra is the Founder and Editor of ALotusInTheMud.com, the premier Wellness and Spirituality web magazine

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More Related Stories