India Republic Day on Long Island

On Friday, January 25th, the Town of Hempstead Town Hall was busy and bustling with vibrant Indian Tricolors. Outside the town Hall on the pole was Our Tiranga Jhanda ready to be raised. The occasion was 16th India Republic Day Celebrations organized by Hempstead Town Supervisor Honorable Laura Gillen and Board members of Indian American Forum, India Association of long Island and IDPUSA Team…

Laura Gillen, Hempstead Town Clerk Silvia Cabana, Councilwoman Erin King Sweeney, Councilman Mr Dennis Dunn, Councilman Bruce A  Blakeman, Edward A Ambrosino, New York State Senators Kevin Thomas and Anna Kaplan, Nassau County Executive Laura Curran, Indu Jaiswal Chairperson of Indian American Forum, Lalit Aery President India Association of Long island, Jasbir Jay Singh, president IDPUSA,  and several community leaders joined in raising the Flag outside the town Hall followed with Indian national anthem. Ms. Silvia Caban, Hempstead town clerk hosted special breakfast in her office

On January 30, The Board of trustees and, members of Indian American Forum, India Association of Long Island and IDPUSA, organized Sixteenth India Republic Day Celebration at The Historical Old Village Hall, in Hempstead Town Hall.  Honorable Supervisor Laura Gillen hosted the Republic Day Celebrations. The town Hall was decorated with Tricolors from Indian flag and patriotic songs were being played all over. Supervisor Gillen was joined with Town Clerk Sivia Cabana and New York State Senator Kevin Thomas, and several elected officers, judges and dignitaries were present and enjoyed this unique evening of celebrations.  Supervisor Gillen welcomed everyone and praised the efforts of Indian Americans Community in USA.

New York State Senator Kevin Thomas presented Citations from the New York State to Honorees and Keynote speaker. Indu Jaiswal, Chairperson of IAF, welcomed everyone and acknowledged the presence of all community leaders and support of President IALI Lalit Aery and President Jasbir Singh IDPUSA. And various organizations present and participated in the program.

India Republic Day Awards were presented to: DALIP MALIK, CPA. Mr Malik is well renowned CPA in Tri State are He is also very active in many religious organizations. One of the religious charitable organizations has nine temples in six states with very large following.

Jaspreet S Mayall, partner in the Telecommunications Group at at CertillanBallinAdlerand Hyman, counsels cellular phone companies, master wholesalers and retailers. He is an active member of Nassau County Bar Association and on the Board of America Heart Association, charged with helping the organization build awareness in the South Asian Community.

Dr Raj K Narayan MD, FACS is the Chief of Neurosurgery at North Shore University Hospital and Long island Jewish medical Center and Director of the Northwell Institute of Neurology and Neurosurgery. Dr Narayan is also the professor and chairman of Neurosurgery at the Zucker School of medicine at Hofstra Northwell in Hempstead. Dr Narayan discussed importance of celebration of India Republic Day.

Program started with pledge of Allegiance by Tara Choudhry. Indian and American national Anthems by Anjana Moolaaylil . Opening prayers were done by Pandit Amol Misra, priest from Vedic Heritage, Long Island.

Lighting of the lamps coordinated by Past Chairman IAF, Dr Parveen Chopra, Roopam Maini, Saroj Aery and Beena Kothari. Patriotic songs sung by Vijay Banjara, Jyoti Gupta, Indu Gajwani, Sonia Anand and Anju Sharma. And Friends. Cultural program introduced by Sunita Manjrekar and Indu Gajwani. Folk dances and other performances we presented by Students of Shilpa Jhurani, from Arya Dance Academy and Nartan Rang Dance Academy of BVB.

End of the ceremony prayers done by priest Venkamma Ghantasala from Sai Temple Baldwin. Bina Sabapathy  and Roopam Maini  thanked all the sponsors Meena Chopra from Akbar Restaurant, , Media,  Roopam Maini, Rizwan Qureshi, Vijay Goswamy,, Jyoti Gupta, Shilpa Jhurani, Swati Vaishnav, Shilpa Mithaiwala, Saroj Aery, Gobind Gupta, Shashi Malik  and all volunteers and supporters

Subscribe to our Newsletter