Indo American Press Club Inducts New Leadership

Indo American Press Club Inducts New Leadership

(Long Island, NY: February 13, 2016) The Indo American Press Club (IAPC) swore in its new team on Long Island during a solemn ceremony on February 6th, 2016. Leading media personalities who graced the event at Tyson Center in Floral Park included HR Shah of TV Asia, Dev Viswanath of ITV, Kamlesh Mehta, Chairman of Forsythe Media Group, and Prof Indrajit Saluja, chief editor of The Indian Panorama.

IAPC’s new President Parveen Chopra, Managing Editor of The South Asian Times and The Asian Era, was inducted along with his team: Dr. Thomas Mathew Joys, columnist and novelist (Exec. Vice President); Korason Varghese, Editor, Jaihind Vartha (General Secretary); Vice Presidents Cyriac Scaria and Jilly Samuel, and Anil Mathew (Treasurer). The oath of office was administered by Ginsmon Zacharia, IAPC Chairman, after the inductees were introduced by Vineetha Nair, Vice Chairperson. Korason Varghese welcomed the gathering.

In his keynote address, HR Shah, Chairman and CEO of TV Asia, promised his full support for IAPC as well as for all Indian media professionals in the USA. There is no competition between one media or media house and another, he said and urged visual and print media to work together. In his view, digital media may have affected print, but advertisers still seem to prefer the bang of print. He credited his incredible success to hard work and perseverance, and promised to stand by anyone who displays such qualities and a drive to excel.

Kamlesh Mehta, Chairman of The South Asian Times, said IAPC has the capacity to grow very resourceful for the good of Indian American media fraternity. He complimented the new office bearers and wished them success.

Dev Viswanath, Attorney and Vice President-Principal Legal Counsel of ITV Gold TV channel, lauded the growth and presence of Indian-American ethnic media and Indian-American professionals in mainstream US media. He challenged the media today to be vigilant in covering the different perspectives, even if they are less popular, so that viewers, readers, audiences can formulate their own opinions. And to create content that was non-political yet interesting and substantive.

Prof Indrajit S Saluja, chief editor of The Indian Panorama, underlined the need for media to be fair and fearless even as it is like a second God, having the power to direct political winds, prompt thought provoking action and socio-economic awakening.

Dr Ajay Lodha, President-Elect of AAPI, in his speech admired media influence in the modern world. Stating that the Indian community in the US is the highest educated and very well placed, he advocated all community organizations to work together to advance the community.

In his presidential address, Parveen Chopra said that IAPC is a platform for all Indian ethnic media professionals — not just its members — and will raise their concerns and work to further their interests. While acknowledging that IAPC was founded by natives of Kerala, he pointed out that GOPIO, FIA, INOC and even AAPI were started by Malayalees, and became diverse in time as IAPC is becoming now. Shomik Chaudhuri, Vice President, Adforce North America, and former COO of Parikh Worldwide Media, gave a lucid presentation on harnessing digital marketing.

Dr. Thomas Joys elaborated on IAPC’s tie-ups with the Trivandrum Press Club and Kottayam Press Clubs in Kerala and that IAPC is launching an Online Journalism Course. He also laid out the benefits of new IPCC membership card. The ID cards were distributed to members at the event.

The Satkarma Award 2016 was announced to be conferred on Murugan S at IAPC’s next annual conference to be held in October. He grew up in the streets but now rehabilitates the mentally challenged, physically impaired, impoverished and disowned individuals in Cochin, Kerala. Last October, social worker Daya Bai was presented the Satkarma Award at IAPC’s media conference at Clarion Hotel in Long Island, which attracted participants and presenters from India, Canada, Australia and UAE.

Others who spoke at the induction ceremony included Jose Thayyil, editor of Kairali newspaper, Vinod Kearke, FOKANA Secretary, Rev Wilson Jose, Patron of Indian Christian Forum, Koshy Oommen, Treasurer, Kerala Chamber of Commerce, and Babu Jesudas, of IAPC Board.

Anil Mathew offered vote of thanks. Jilly Samuel and Arun Gopalakrishnan were the MCs. Manjari Parikh gave an energetic dance performance. IAPC thanked HR Shah of TV Asia, Kamlesh Mehta of The South Asian Times and Darshan Singh Bagga, a builder-developer, for their spontaneous generous contributions.

Subscribe to our Newsletter